2012 National Book Award Finalists Announced

Elmore Leonard and Arthur O. Sulzberger, Jr. to Receive 2012 Lifetime Achievement Awards

The twenty Finalists for the 63rd Annual National Book Awards have been announced: five finalists each in of the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature. They are:


Junot Dí­az, This Is How You Lose Her (Riverhead Books, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc. 

Dave Eggers, A Hologram for the King (McSweeney's Books)

Louise Erdrich, The Round House (Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)

Ben Fountain, Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk (Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)

Kevin Powers, The Yellow Birds (Little, Brown and Company)



Anne Applebaum, Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe, 1945-1956


Katherine Boo, Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity (Random House)

Robert A. Caro, The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Volume 4


Domingo Martinez, The Boy Kings of Texas (Lyons Press, an imprint of Globe Pequot Press)

Anthony Shadid, House of Stone: A Memoir of Home, Family, and a Lost Middle East

(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)


David Ferry, Bewilderment: New Poems and Translations (University of Chicago Press)

Cynthia Huntington, Heavenly Bodies (Southern Illinois University Press)

Tim Seibles, Fast Animal (Etruscan Press)

Alan Shapiro, Night of the Republic (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Susan Wheeler, Meme (University of Iowa Press)


William Alexander, Goblin Secrets (Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing)

Carrie Arcos, Out of Reach (Simon Pulse, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing)

Patricia McCormick, Never Fall Down (Balzer+Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)

Eliot Schrefer, Endangered (Scholastic)

Steve Sheinkin, Bomb: The Race to Build--and Steal--the World's Most Dangerous Weapon (Flash Point, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press)

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization. A pantheon of such writers as William Faulkner, Philip Roth, John Updike, and Annie Proulx have all won the Award.

Each year, the Foundation selects a total of twenty judges, including five in each of the four categories. Judges are published writers who are known to be doing great work in their genre or field, and in some cases, are past NBA Finalists or Winners.

The National Book Foundation has also announced details about this year’s 63rd National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner. TV and radio commentator, journalist, and actor Faith Salie will host the event to be held on Wednesday, November 14 at Cipriani in New York City. The ceremony will be streamed live on the National Book Awards website.

In addition to presenting the 63rd National Book Awards, the National Book Foundation will bestow its Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters (DCAL) on novelist Elmore Leonard, and its Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community on New York Times chairman and publisher Arthur O. Sulzberger, Jr.

National Book Awards Week will kick off with 5 Under 35, a celebration of emerging fiction writers selected by past NBA Winners and Finalists. This year, singer, songwriter, and producer Neko Case will host the seventh annual 5 Under 35 event on Monday, November 12. Poet and photographer Thomas Sayers Ellis, who was an NBA Poetry Judge in 2011, will DJ the event. Past 5 Under 35 honoree Anya Ulinich will moderate a conversation between the five young authors, who will be announced on Thursday, September 27.