Association of American Publishers Presents Winners of 2012 PROSE Awards

Ceremony Includes Premier of Fifth Annual Short Film, THE CURATORS

On February 7th, the Professional and Scholarly Publishing (PSP) Division of the Association of American Publishers (AAP) announced the winners of the 2012 American Publishers Awards for Professional and Scholarly Excellence (the PROSE Awards), during a luncheon at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Washington, DC.  A full list of the winners can be found at

The 2012 R.R. Hawkins Award was presented to Princeton University Press for Through the Eye of a Needle: Wealth, the Fall of Rome, and the Making of Christianity in the West, 350-550 AD by Peter Brown. The book also won the PROSE Award for Excellence in Humanities and the Classics & Ancient History category. 

“This year we again received a record number of entries, which is a testament to the vibrancy and variety of the scholarly publishing sector,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, president and publisher emeritus of CQ Press. “The winners and honorable mentions announced this year are high-caliber works and genuinely represent the best in scholarly publishing.  Hats off to our judges who spent many hours tackling this formidable challenge.”

The prestigious R.R. Hawkins Award recognizes scholarly works in all disciplines of the humanities and sciences, and is given for the most outstanding professional, reference or scholarly work among the year’s award winners.  The Award was presented at the Awards Luncheon by Tom Allen, President and CEO of the AAP.

The 2012 PROSE Awards received a record-breaking 518 entries from more than 70 professional and scholarly publishers across the country.  Video highlights from this year’s Awards Luncheon, including the short film The Curators and the acceptance speech of the Hawkins prize winner, will be available on and YouTube.

The Curators, a five minute short film depicting the crucial need for editors in the competitive field of publishing, premiered at the ceremony .

“Editors bring invaluable expertise during this transition from print to digital media,” said PROSE Awards Chairman John A. Jenkins, president and publisher emeritus of CQ Press. “As digital platforms become more popular, it’s increasingly necessary to have a savvy editor perfect the subtle cues that make a book successful on every platform, whether it’s read in print, on a tablet or on a smartphone.”

Directed and produced by award-winning New York filmmaker Mary Rose Synek, the film follows three works from three publishers – Cambridge University Press, American Institute of Physics, and McGraw-Hill Professional – through the publication process.

“Filming the The Curators was an eye-opener—we were able to see how each work has been processed, checked and rechecked to be as close to perfection a possible,” said Synek. “Exploring the expertise behind the scenes left us humbled; the editor is indeed irreplaceable in this process.”