Final Entry Deadline for IPPY Awards Approaches

Contest Celebrates 20 Years of Awarding and Recognizing Indie Books

(January 26, 2016 – Traverse City, Michigan) – The final entry deadline for the 2016 Independent Publisher Book Awards is one month away – February 27, 2016. Known in the industry by its nickname the "IPPYs," the contest is the largest and most competitive awards program for independently published books in the English-speaking world. The 2016 contest marks the 20th anniversary for the IPPY Awards, a milestone that will be celebrated at the IPPY ceremony and gala taking place in May on the eve of BookExpo America.

Since its founding in 1996, 20 years of coveted IPPY medals have been awarded to a diverse group of publishers, authors, and illustrators, including the U.S. poet laureate Juan Felipe Herrera, legendary rock musician Mitch Ryder, and novelist and McSweeney’s founder Dave Eggers. Medals are presented in 80 subject categories, as well as 24 regional and 10 ebook categories. Last year’s contest drew in around 5,800 entries from an entrant pool that has greatly diversified over the years, as self-publishing, hybrid publishing, and independent publishers have all grown and thrived. To view the 2015 IPPY medalists, click here.

Authors and publishers have until the February 27th deadline to submit their best titles for consideration, after which the contest will be closed for judging until the results announcement on April 7th. The 2016 medal presentation will take place on May 10th at the Willis Tower in downtown Chicago, in conjunction with BookExpo America. (formerly Small Press  magazine) initially conceived the IPPYs to help recognize the work of independent publishers who remained unsung by major publications and awards programs. "Despite having produced a wealth of well-written, beautifully designed books, small presses were largely overlooked in favor of the big publishing houses," says Awards Director Jim Barnes. "Existing literary awards were genre specific or only open to members of the sponsoring organization, so we felt the need for a broad-based, unaffiliated contest that would recognize all types of independent publishers." The IPPY Awards are presented by and Jenkins Group, a Michigan-based publishing services company. For more information about the awards, visit the website here.