ALA Announces Award Winners

Park, Wiesner receive Newbery, Caldecott Medals
Linda Sue Park, author of A Single Shard, and David Wiesner, illustrator and author of The Three Pigs, are the 2002 winners of the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott Medals, the most prestigious awards in children's literature.

These were among the award winners announced during the ALA Midwinter Meeting in New Orleans. Considered the "Academy Awards" of children's book publishing, the Newbery and Caldecott Medals honor outstanding writing and illustration of works published in the United States during the previous year.

Park takes readers to 12th-century Korea to tell a timeless story of dedication to one's dreams and art in A Single Shard, published by Houghton Mifflin Company/Clarion Books. Tree-ear, an orphan who lives under a bridge with his wise friend Crane-man, becomes fascinated with a nearby community of potters. Drawn by their exquisite craftsmanship, the adolescent boy begins to assist the master potter Min. Park is the first Korean-American to win the Newberry Medal.

In The Three Pigs, published by Houghton Mifflin Company/Clarion Books, the plot and form of a familiar folktale unravels as the pigs are huffed and puffed off the page and into a new world. The trio cavorts through scenes from a nursery rhyme to a fairy tale, liberating other characters on the fly. Using a range of artistic styles and thrilling perspectives, Wiesner plays with the structure and conventions of traditional storytelling, redefining the picture book.

Two Newbery Honor Books were named: "Everything on a Waffle" by Polly Horvath, published by Farrar Straus Giroux; and "Carver: a life in poems" by Marilyn Nelson, published by Front Street. Three Caldecott Honor Books were named: "Martin's Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.," illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Doreen Rappaport, and published by Hyperion Books for Children/Jump at the Sun; "The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins: An Illuminating History of Mr. Waterhouse Hawkins, Artist and Lecturer," illustrated by Brian Selznick, written by Barbara Kerley, and published by Scholastic Press; and "The Stray Dog," illustrated and written by Marc Simont and published by HarperCollins.

The awards are administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the ALA. For more on these awards and the ALA's Coretta Scott King Awards, Michael L. Printz Award, Robert F. Sibert Award, and the Andrew Carnegie Medal, visit the American Library Association website.