Congratulations and sincere thanks to the 2,000 independent authors and publishers who participated in the 2011 Independent Publisher Book Awards. The "IPPY" Awards, launched in 1996, are designed to bring increased recognition to the deserving but often unsung titles published by independent authors and publishers. Established as the first awards program open exclusively to independents, over 2,400 "IPPYs" have been awarded to authors and publishers around the world.


A premier publishing services firm


Announcing the 2011 IPPY Outstanding Books of the Year

Special awards recognize the daring spirit of independent authors and publishers
For 28 years our mission at Independent Publisher has been to recognize and encourage the work of publishers who exhibit the courage and creativity necessary to take chances, break new ground, and bring about change, not only to the world of publishing, but to our society. These medalists were chosen from our regular entries for exemplifying this daring spirit -- the book projects our judges found the most heartfelt, unique, outspoken and experimental among our 4,000 entries. All 13 of these books earned IPPY Award gold medals.

Congratulations to this year's Outstanding Books of the Year:

Most Original Concept

American Icarus: A Life in Snapshots, by Lance Speer (Circa Photographics, Ltd.)

Best Book Arts Craftsmanship

Hugo Roggendorf: La Receta De Mi Vida (The Recipe of My Life), by Hugo Roggendorf (Origo Ediciones)

Story Teller of the Year (tie)


Building One Fire: Art and World View in Cherokee Life, by Chadwick Corntassel Smith & Rennard Strickland with Benny Smith (Cherokee Nation) and
Storytelling Time: Native North American Art from the Collections at the University of North Dakota, by Arthur F. Jones, Lucy Annis Ganje, and Nelda Schrupp (Hudson Hills Press, LLC)

Most Likely to Save the Planet

The CAFO Reader: The Tragedy of Industrial Animal Factories, edited by Daniel Imhoff (Watershed Media) and CAFO (Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations) Pictorial Edition (Earth Aware)

Independent Spirit Award

Most Unlikely to Succeed: The Trials, Travels, and Ultimate Triumphs of a “Throwaway” Kid, by Nelson Lauver (Five City Media)

Peacemaker of the Year

The End of War: How Waging Peace Can Save Humanity, Our Planet and Our Future, by Captain Paul K. Chappell (Easton Studio Press)

Most Inspirational to Youth

The Creative Collection of American Short Stories, by Various Authors (The Creative Company)

Most Progressive Health Book

AIDS, Opium, Diamonds, and Empire: The Deadly Virus of International Greed, by Nancy Turner Banks, M.D. (iUniverse)

Independent Voice Award (tie)


Glenn Ligon: America, by Scott Rothkopf (Whitney Museum of American Art) and Paul Thek: Diver, A Retrospective, by Elizabeth Sussman and Lynn Zelevansky (Whitney Museum of American Art)

Most Outstanding Design

My Orange Duffel Bag: a Journey to Radical Change, by Sam Bracken and Echo Garrett (Operation Orange Media, LLC)

Freedom Fighter Award

The Color of Law: Ernie Goodman, Detroit, and the Struggle for Labor and Civil Rights, by Steve Babson, Dave Riddle, and David Elsila (Wayne State University Press)